Bringing the excitement of the performing arts to the Big Sky Country.

Alberta Bair Theater

Capital Campaign

We have begun a historic journey to expand and improve the Alberta Bair Theater. It’s been 31 years since the old Fox Theatre was renovated to become our beloved Alberta Bair Theater. In that time tens of thousands of people have attended performances to Tony awarded Broadway musicals, Grammy Awarded musicians and the best of ballet and modern dance, as well as theatre for all ages. As stewards of ABT and its legacy of excellence, we must again renovate the theater to continue bringing world class entertainment to our region.

The latest concept design for the exterior of the renovated ABT is above. Included in the $12.5 million renovation needs:

Main Floor Lobby & Concessions

Stage Rigging System

New Audio System

Balcony Lobby & Concessions

Upgraded Seats

New Lighting System

Increased Mezzanine Restrooms


Increased Main Floor Restrooms

Acoustic Treatments

ADA Compliancy


Building Code Requirements

Theatrical Consultant

Grand Staircase

New Ticket Office

Digital Marquee

We are fortunate several organizations, families and individuals understand the value Alberta Bair Theater adds to our region in terms of quality of life and community as well as economic impact and have risen to the challenge as philanthropic leaders.

John Jones, president of Charles M Bair Family Trust, Jan Dietrich, executive director of Alberta Bair Theater and Brooke Murphy, board president of Alberta Bair Theater, announce the foundation’s $2.5 million gift to the ABT Capital Campaign at a sold out performance of Jersey Boys in December 2017.

These are exciting times and we invite you to be a part of Alberta Bair Theater’s legacy.

Please contact Jan Dietrich for more information at or (406) 294-5201.

The following gifts are current as of January 23, 2019:


C.M. Bair Family Trust

City of Billings (TIF Funding)

Jim & Chris Scott Family Foundation


Dr. Hewes & Susan Agnew


First Interstate Bank and Foundation

Susan Scott Heyneman Foundation

Stockman Bank


Carol Brosovich

John & Patricia Burg

Carolyn K. Ennis

Cynthia Foster

John W. & Carol L.H. Green

Linda & Denny Menholt

Lee & Denise Scherer

Tracey Foundation


Mary & Bill Underriner



Robert & Cindy Beers

Jody & Cyndy Desin

Jay & Brittainy Doucette

William & Kim Gottwals

Frank & Shelley Haughton

Langlas & Associates

Dave & Gini Langlas

Benjamin & Mary Lou Marchello

Laurence R. & Ruth Martin

Sam & Judy McDonald Foundation

Gavin & Brooke Murphy

Ron & Karin Smith

Ron & Amy Yates


Bill & Anne Cole

Steve & Jennifer Corning

Anne K. Dietrich

David & Jan Dietrich

Dr. Paul Grmoljez & Alice Gordon

Brian & Molly Harrington

David & Judy Johnson

Dave & Elaine Kinnard

Walt & Mary Peet

Duncan & Jenna Peete

Michael & Sara Sanderson

Valley Credit Union


Kathleen Benoit-Whiteley &

Craige Whiteley

Nick & Linda Cladis

Bruce Ennis & Margaret Davis

Fortin Foundation of Florida

Jon & Suzanne Graeve

Steve Haraden & Linda Shelhamer

Kirk & Brittney Jensen

Doug & Shannon Jensen

Joel & Andrea Long

Greg & Eileen McDonald

Paul & Ann Miller

Moulton Bellingham PC

George & Patricia Selover

Corby Skinner


Steve & Elsie Arntzen

Steve & Patti Ballock

Richard & Cheri Cox

Brad & Lisa Griffin

Doug & Kathy James

Clayton & Joan McCracken

Bill & Sally Toner


Susan Baack

Nancy D. Barbula

Heather & Robb Bergeson

Joseph K. Bradford

Bill & Janie Brown

Scott & Deb Brown

Evan & Amy Buchan

John & Chris Dorr

Catherine Glennon

Jody Grant

Dr. Mike Geurin

Norma Hahn

Kristin Hammler

Dr. Donald Harr

Kathleen Healy

Charles & Valeria Heyneman

Shelly Loveless

Jerry Lydiatt

Jerry & Beth A. Madsen

Terry & Sandra Mammenga

Sherrie Murray

Travis & Meadow Nilles

NorthWestern Energy

Jane Ohnstad

Ken & Leslie Pitman

Charlie & Audrey Reed

Margaret Steckel

Sharol Steppler

John & Susan Stewart

Ruth Terry

Arlo Thomas